top of page
Search
Writer's pictureArlene DeJoy-Meckes

3 Reasons to Use Choice Boards in Your Classroom

Have you ever been in the position where you taught a great lesson and a handful of your students are saying "I'm done!". I know I have...a lot! In a Culinary classroom there are often things to do for students who finish early but what if you just don't know what to do with them next?



Choice Boards have saved me so many times. I make sure that I introduce the choice board to my students early in the school year. The due date is usually set out a few weeks or a month so there is time to finish and can be graded as an assessment. When students are "done" with the day's lesson I direct them to work on their choice board.


4 Reasons to Use Choice Boards:

  • They cater to multiple learning styles

Students have the option to choose activities that appeal to how they learn. For example, one student may choose a creative assignment where another may prefer a paper and pencil assignment.


  • They are Motivating

Choosing assignments that you prefer is motivating to students. Some students will even do more assignments than they have to because they enjoy the choice.


  • They are for Early Finishers

Students will always have an assignment to work on when they have a choice board in their binder. You can have a class routine that involves students taking out their choice boards when they finish early.


Chris and I made a Culinary choice board that students can do in class and at home which has helped us with downtime in class!



644 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page