top of page
Search
Writer's pictureArlene DeJoy-Meckes

Culinary Arts Project Based Learning Ideas

Updated: Jul 10, 2021



I don't know about you but I LOVE when I see my students actually talking about the content I am trying to teach them! Culinary Arts and FACS are some of the best courses for students because project based learning happens on a regular basis. They get to learn hands on skills that they see value in.


Research backs this up...you learn and retain more when you teach it!


One of my favorite activities to do with my students is have them become an "expert" on a topic or a person by researching the specific topic or person, use a graphic organizer to collect and organize the information and then create a presentation. The presentation has a rubric so they understand the expectations and I have to review the presentation and edit before they actually present.


Once they are ready, they TEACH the class the material they are experts on. I get all the feels when I sit back and watch them go. This is what I see:

  • They are learning more than if I were to lecture the material

  • Their classmates are way more engaged than if I stood up there and lectured

  • They are taking ownership of their learning

  • I am sitting and not sweating while I teach!!!


While they are presenting I am taking notes on their individual rubrics that they handed into me with their name and name of presentation on.



I just made this fun little project above. Students research a famous chef, complete the graphic organizer with their information and create a presentation. I also have a rubric included and I have a sheet for the peers to complete as they watch the presentation. BAM...almost a week of planning done and they are engaged!







196 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page